Monty Python’s Michael Palin to receive honorary degree

Michael Palin, former member of the British surreal comedy group Monty Python is due to receive an honorary degree from the University of St Andrews. Mr Palin joins 11 other prominent figures to be honoured between the 20 and 23 June this year at Younger Hall. He co-wrote and starred in various roles in Monty Python’s the Holy Grail, The Meaning of Life and Life of Brian. More recently in 2000 he was honoured as a Commander of the Order of the British Empire for his services to television.

The ex-Python member will be the third of the group to be honoured by the University of St Andrews. Former Rector (1970-73), John Cleese was awarded an honorary degree by the University in 1971, another member Terry Jones was most recently honoured in 2013. Mr Palin will be joining prominent figures of science, literature, religion, film and broadcasting during the University’s summer graduation ceremonies.

Former Bishop of Edinburgh Richard Holloway, broadcaster Donald Macleod and Iranian film director Professor Bahram Beyzaie are also to be awarded honorary doctorates.  

The full list of recipients is as follows:

Professor Laura Beatriz Esquivel Valdes – novelist, screenwriter, social activist and politician.

Dr Richard Holloway – Scottish writer, broadcaster, and former Bishop of Edinburgh and Primus of the Scottish Episcopal Church.

Professor Michael Klein – Laura H Carnell professor of science at Temple University in Philadelphia, USA, and the director of the Temple Institute for Computational Molecular Science.

Dr John Cameron – representative for Scottish agriculture and railway adviser.

Clement Mubanga Chileshe – Director for the Olympic Youth Development Center in Zambia.

The Rt Hon Dame Elish Angiolini – Scottish lawyer and former Lord Advocate of Scotland (2006 until 2011) whose work resulted in the establishment of the National Sexual Crimes Unit.

Mr Donald Macleod – writer and broadcaster for the BBC radio and news.

Professor Anthony Paul Cohen – British social anthropologist, honorary Professor at the University of Edinburgh, Emeritus Professor at Queen Margaret University College, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Professor Bahram Beyzaie – critically acclaimed Iranian film director and playwright.

Mr Michael Palin – comedian, broadcaster and writer best known for his work with Monty Python’s Flying Circus and Ripping Yarns.

Mr David Nott – consultant surgeon and authority in laparoscopic surgery, and the first surgeon to combine laparoscopic and vascular surgery.

Professor Malcolm Longair – physicist, served as the Jacksonian Professor of Natural Philosophy in the Cavendish Laboratory at the University of Cambridge from 1991 to 2008.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.