Louise Richardson to receive honorary degree

Picture: The Saint

Louise Richardson, the former principal and vice-chancellor of the University of St Andrews, is to be awarded an honorary degree by the University.

Professor Richardson became the University’s principal, the first woman to hold the post, in January 2009. She left in December of last year to become principal of Oxford University.

Among the others who will receive honorary degrees is Professor Herman Van Rompuy, the former prime minister of Belgium and president of the European Council and novelist and screenwriter Neil Gaiman, whose work includes comic book series The Sandman, American Gods and Coraline.

Other honorands include Professor Rita Colwell, Professor Jean Beggs, Professor John Dudley, Professor Emma Rothschild, Professor Sir Geoffrey Lloyd, and Professor Peter Sarnak.

The University’s recently retired Bedellus, John Jardine, will also be awarded the University Medal during the summer ceremonies.

The graduation ceremonies will be held from June 21 to 24 in Younger Hall.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.